DIY Studio Monitor Stands

The best way to save money in any home/commercial recording studio is to do as many things that you can yourself. In my case, I had the building professionally built and finished, then I went to work making all my own panels, console, and now Monitor Stands.

Day 1)

As always, went to Home Depot and bought (2) 8 foot  2′ x 4’s and (1) 24″ x 48″ 3/4 MDF Panel. Cost all together was about $20.

photo 1 photo 2

I started out by measuring and cutting the panel in to (4) 12″ sections. These will serve as the top and bottom of the stands.

photo 3 photo 4

photo 1 photo 2

Next I measured for the height of the stands and cut the 2 x 4’s accordingly. Your height will most likely be different, so I won’t bother to post my measurements.

photo 3 photo 4

It is time to attach the (2) 2 x 4’s together using wood screws. Always drill pilot holes about 3/4 of the length of the actual screw, this will guarantee a nice straight attachment.

photo 9 photo 10

photo 11 photo 12

photo 13 photo 14

photo 15 photo 16

Once securely attached at both ends and in the middle with screws, i drilled a center hole in both the stands and the ends. This will help with correct placement of the top and bottom pieces.

photo 6 photo 7

Then I used one screw to attach the ends to the stands. I will add more screws later, this is just to hold them together for now.

photo 8 photo 17

photo 18 photo 19

Once I was happy with the stands it was time to “finish” them. I used the leftover material from my DIY Studio Console armrest to cover the 2 x 4’s.

photo 20 photo 21

One other tip, I used a Sharpie to color in the staples, though they will be in the back, it just made the stands look a little better.

photo 23 photo 24

It was time to attach the ends to the covered stand. They are really staring to look nice!

photo 28 photo 29

Day 2)

It is day 2 and time for paint. I used the leftover paint from my recent DIY Studio Console project to paint the top and bottom of the stands so they would match. Once painted, I added (4) rubber feet to the bottom to help keep them from sliding and to keep a nice soundproofing distance from the floor.

photo 36photo 37

I let them dry over night and I have to say, they match the look of the console perfectly, don’t you agree?

photo 4

For more information about the DIY Studio Console please Click Here!

Thanks for Reading!

6 thoughts on “DIY Studio Monitor Stands

  1. This has been a great post on how to build monitor stands. I am in the process of deciding the style of my stands as well. I was originally thinking about building short stands and have them sit on top of the desk to get them up to ear level. Now that I have looked at yours, I have decided to keep them off the table completely. I do have two questions for you and they are. #1 what is the material you used to cover the 2×4’s and where do you get it. #2 do you recommend using Auralex Mopads for dampening or are they just hype in your opinion?

    1. Bob,

      Thank you so very much for taking time to respond to my post. It really means a lot. To answer your questions:

      1. The material I used was a vinyl material like they would use to cover the seats of a car. Its basically “fake” leather. It is fairly inexpensive and I just had it left over from the Studio Console project I did. In Indiana, there is a store called Joann Fabrics. That is where I got the material.

      2. I personally believe that every studio is different and every room is different, so I am not saying that the Mopads don’t work, I am just saying that in my case I don’t see the need for them. I did however put some little rubber pads on the bottom of the monitors to keep them from sliding and to help with the sound. Got those at Home Depot for a few bucks.

      Thanks again for taking time to check out my blog and feel free to contact me directly with any questions! Thanks!

  2. Tim you’re just awesome lol. I read your post about building your studio console project as well, I wanna build both the console & these monitor stands now.

    I have a 8 channel analog mixer & a pair of the Presonus Eris E5’s, but sadly the monitors are sitting right on my desk. So I’ll definitely be giving these projects a shot.

    Thanks!

  3. haha I didn’t know how easy that was going to be. Thanks for the instruct. How do they sound after a year or so? Are they heavy enough? Ill be lining up to your blog for sure. great stuff!

Leave a Reply

